jump to navigation

welcome! January 16, 2007

Posted by john wright in Uncategorized.
trackback

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is John Wright, Research Support Librarian for the University of Wales, Bangor. I’ll be using this blog to tell you about what I’m doing, and the sort of support I can provide. I’ll also provide advice and links to useful research-related information. I may even throw in the odd bit of trivia concerning my life outside work!

One thing that’s preoccupying me at the moment is the Bangor Research Archive – BaRA for short. What’s that I hear you ask? Well, it’s a repository (yes that’s ‘re’ pository) of all of Bangor’s research articles, working papers, reports and electronic theses all held in one openly accessable location. Or at least it will be, just as soon as I finish working on the configuration of the software with my friend in IT services. After that I’ll be going out to the Schools to try and get researchers to submit their works. One big benefit to individual researchers is that citation rates for papers held on repositories (there’s that word again!) are proven to increase – this is because it’s all open access and works are easily accessible using a standard web search engine (like Google for example). If you’d like to see an example repository have a look at Edinburgh Research Archive at the University of Edinburgh, or e-Prints at the University of Southampton. BaRA will be up and running in February so watch this space!

“Research is the act of going up alleys to see if they are blind” Anon.

Comments»

1. Mohammed Animon - January 16, 2007

This is a great work. This would be very useful for an international student like me who work for a University in the tropics which does not have access to many electronic journals as we have in Bangor.


Leave a Reply

