jump to navigation

it’s been a while.. January 11, 2008

Posted by john wright in Uncategorized.
trackback

I had to look up my login details just now, that’s how long it is since I was last on here. I’m fairly certain that what small readership I may have garnered in the previous months has long since found other more interesting things to look at. Like paint drying.

So what’s happened since September 11th? Well the semester started of course and with it came the usual flurry of activity. In Welcome Week we did lots of introductory library presentations and tours, and we had our usual spot down at the Fresher’s Fair where we shipped over 2000 free lollies and forced raffle tickets on anything that moved.

In the following months up to Christmas I did a number of workshops for postgraduate students both to groups and one-to-one, covering things like Endnote and search strategies for eResources. I also went to a very interesting conference on eLearning (or ‘technology-enhanced learning’ as it’s now known) in Wales’ premier spa town Llandrindod Wells, which interestingly has a ‘Spar’ shop.

On a personal note, I finished an album, and did a gig at the Anglesey Arms in Menai Bridge which was (like many things that cause apprehension) ok in the end. I was also plagued by long-term ankle injury which threatened to end my 5-a-side football career, but like a (slightly hobbling) phoenix from the flames I have made a tentative return and although inevitably some of the magic has gone, I still feel I have something to contribute to the football world.

Happy New Year one and all.

“We can be absolutely certain only about things we do not understand.” Eric Hoffer

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

